It represents the body added to the more recent abbey structure, built only in the 19th century.
The façade is however well inserted in the context where with its warm colors and its simplicity it creates a backdrop that does not distract attention from the rigorous and imposing abbey.
Before and after
The construction of the rectory takes place in 1824 when the church of San Fruttuoso obtained the title of Parish. Unfortunately after only a few years the building was destroyed during a flood and subsequently rebuilt almost identical, except for some decorative details, in 1885.
The diagnostic investigations campaign also involved this building, highlighting its structural fragility mainly situated by the roof. During the restoration work, the problems related to the structure were addressed first and then those affecting the external surfaces, the latter mainly damaged by brackish water brought into suspension by strong winds, which creates an aerosol that causes eroding the lime-based plasters, as well as painted finishes made with the same binder. The widespread presence of colonies of biodeteriogens is the other main cause of degradation of all the buildings on the site, which is characterized by an immersion in nature where it is difficult to counteract this take-in phenomena if not with careful and prolonged maintenance. in time.
We can summarize the operations carried out in:
Cleaning with water and brushes
Integration of gaps and cracks with compatible mortars
Color balance of surfaces